2017 Annual Dinner

Join us for a fun evening of dinner and socializing on Wednesday, May 31st, 2017. Our guest speaker will be Chancellor Douglas Stollery, who will speak about “10 things that surprised me (in a good way) about the U of A”.

Join us at The Faculty Club at 11435 Saskatchewan Drive at the U of A Campus.

Cocktails will be at 6:00PM (cash bar) and Dinner will be served at 6:30PM.

Our guest speaker will take the podium at 7:30PM

Order tickets on Eventbrite

The program also includes a short Annual General Meeting.

Judicial Review: Why the Fuss?

The 2017 edition of the Henry Marshall Tory Lecture, presented by The Friends of the University of Alberta will feature The Honourable Russell Brown of the Supreme Court of Canada.

This event is SOLD OUT!

Join us at this lecture at 7pm on Monday, February 6, 2017 at the Telus Lecture Theatre in the Telus Centre located at 11104 87 Ave NW, Edmonton.

This is a free event, with limited capacity; please RSVP via this EventBrite link.

2016 Annual General Meeting

After the fun evening of dinner, socializing and learning about the state of the University from Dr. David Turpin, President of the University of Alberta, the Friends held their Annual General Meeting.

The Treasurer presented the Financials and they were accepted as presented.

Ken Regan presented an overview of the strategic plan.

The mission of the Friends of the University of Alberta Society is to build and nurture a community of friends to celebrate and champion the University of Alberta.

He highlighted the following the three priorities for 2016–2019.

1) Grow membership within the Friends of the University of Alberta Society.

2) Expand engagement opportunities between the Friends and the broader community.

3) Grow the Friends scholarship program.

The election of the executive positions for 2016-17 was completed as follows:

The Friends elect Kate Freeman as President, Ken Regan as Vice President, Dick Wilson as Past President, Matthew Sharp as Treasurer, Leith Campbell as Secretary, Brent McDonough as Membership Chair, Luca Vanzella as Casino Chair, Kathryn Vanzella as Website Chair, and Julian Savaryn, Nona German, Mackenzie Martin, Ralph Young and Anastasia Lim as Executives at large.