The Friends of the University of Alberta are pleased to offer a number of scholarships to students at the U of A:

Friends of the University Graduate Award

Each year The Friends fund this $10,000 award. One award of $5000 to be awarded annually to a full-time student entering the first year of any graduate degree at the University of Alberta. Based on academic achievement and outstanding community service as demonstrated through research and/or involvement in community engagement and/or volunteer activities. Renewable for a second year of $5000 contingent upon maintaining satisfactory academic standing. Award is credited directly towards fees. Eligible students should contact their home department for information on the application process for this award. More information here.

Ailsa Heathcote Walker Memorial Prize

Awarded annually to a student who has first class standing in HIST 260 or HIST 261 and who achieves the highest grade in either HIST 260 (Introduction to the Study of Canadian History 1500 – 1867) or HIST 261 (Introduction to the Study of Canadian History 1867 to Present). In the event of a tie, the recipient will be chosen on the basis of the overall GPA.

Ailsa was born in Edmonton in 1922 and lived there until her passing in 1989. During WW2 she served with the Royal Canadian Air Force, attaining the rank of flight lieutenant. She earned a Bachelor of Education from the University of Alberta, a Bachelor of Science from the University of British Columbia and worked as a social worker for the City of Edmonton.

An ardent genealogist, she served as president of the Alberta Genealogical Society (AGS). She authored a column for the AGS entitled ‘Dear Genie’ and also for the Edmonton Journal. The AGS published her column posthumously with the tribute ‘Our genie’s lamp has gone out.’

Ailsa held education, and in particular the University of Alberta, in high regard. We are proud to honour her memory with this annual prize.

Return to Top

Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin Scholarship in Humanities

Awarded annually to a student with superior academic achievement entering the third or fourth year of studies specializing in the Humanities. Recipient will be selected on the basis of academic standing.

The first woman appointed as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, Beverley McLachlin assumed her position in 2000. Her journey to the highest legal position in the country began at the U of A in the Faculty of Arts, where she graduated with a BA in 1965. After earning her law degree, she left Alberta and went on to pursue a legal career in British Columbia, first in private practice and later as a professor at the University of British Columbia.

Chief Justice McLachin has served on every level of court, having been first appointed to the County Court of British Columbia, then to the British Columbia Supreme Court, the British Columbia Court of Appeal and finally, in 1989, to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Her judgments, notable for their clarity and cogency, have dealt with the full range of issues on the judicial spectrum. Although well known for her writing in the area of constitutional law, she is equally respected for her work in private law matters.  It is no exaggeration to say that Chief Justice McLachlin is as highly regarded abroad as she is in Canada.

This award is offer to commemorate Chief Justice McLachlin’s visit to the University of Alberta as the primary speaker for the Henry Marshall Tory Lecture in 2002.

Return to Top

Helen McArthur Scholarship in Nursing

Awarded annually to a student with superior academic achievement entering the second year of a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. Selection is based on academic standing.

Dr. Helen (Griffin-Wylie) McArthur (married name-Watson) was born in Stettler, AB.  She earned her Bachelor of Science form the University of Alberta and was the Director of the University of Alberta School of Nursing from 1940-1943.  She was instrumental in establishing the Advanced Practical Obstetrics Progam.

After nursing in the Peace River Country of Alberta, she joined the Canadian Red Cross and served as a Chief Nurse.  She was president of the Canadian Nurses Association from 1950-1954.  In 1954, she earned the Florence Nightingale Award for her work in Korea.  She was also an Officer of the Order of Canada.

In 1964, the University of Alberta awarded Dr. McArthur an Honorary Doctor of Laws.  She passed away in 1974.

Return to Top

Isabel Munroe Smith Memorial Scholarship

Awarded annually to a full-time female student who was originally admitted to the University as a nonmatriculated applicant and who is a Canadian Citizen or Permanent Resident. Selection will be made on the basis of superior academic achievement.

Isabel Munroe Smith served as the University of Alberta Dean of Women from 1968 to 1974. She was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws by the U of A in 1988.

Return to Top

Jeanne Sauvé Undergraduate Scholarship

Awarded annually to a student entering the third year of a BA degree program on the basis of superior academic achievement.

The Right Honourable Jeanne Sauvé served in the House of Commons from 1973 to 1980. In 1980, she was elected Speaker of the House of Commons and in 1984, was appointed the first woman Governor General of Canada, a post she held until 1990.

Return to Top

R. K. Gordon Prize in Chaucer

Awarded to an outstanding undergraduate or convocating student with superior academic achievement in the study of Chaucer, provided that the student’s academic record is otherwise satisfactory in the year of the award. If there is no suitable candidate, no award will be made. This award is open to any student registered in courses related to the study of Chaucer.

R. K. Gordon joined the University of Alberta staff in 1913, having graduated from the Universities of Toronto and Oxford. In 1936, he was appointed head of the Department of English and acted as the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science from 1943-45.

The Royal Society of Canada elected him a fellow in 1936. Dr. Gordon published widely in the field of English literature, his great love being Chaucer. He retired from the University in 1950.

Return to Top

Scholarship in Elementary Education

One scholarship of $500 awarded annually to a student with superior academic achievement entering the fourth year of an undergraduate degree in the Faculty of the Education Elementary route. Selection based on academic standing by nomination from the Department of Elementary Education.
Return to Top

Entrance Scholarships

Three scholarships of $500 awarded annually on the basis of superior academic achievement and financial need to students entering the first year of an undergraduate degree program at the University of Alberta. Recipients are selected on the basis of their admission average. Automatic consideration upon final admission to the University of Alberta, no application required.

Return to Top